inTOcomedy
> following the Toronto comedy scene
News

SketchFest SCANDAL: Some Comments About Your Comments

First off, greetings to my new readers. Thanks for making November 20th intocomedy.com’s busiest traffic day ever! So glad to have you all on board.

I’ve gotten a lot of response to my Toronto Sketch Fest Wrap-Up post from the other day and honestly I wasn’t expecting so much flak. This morning my inbox suddenly started filling up with comments from various members of the comedy community and suffice it to say they are not too pleased with what I’ve written. Amongst a few cheap shots taken at me personally and my own sketch troupe, there were a number of reasonable posts expressing concern with my credibility. After considering some of the comments and looking back at what I wrote, here are a few things I’d like to say:

1. A lot of people called me out for not going to the fest, something I admitted to off the very top. I think this is the root of the issue here. I never meant for this to be a review of the festival. Like I said, I didn’t go, so a review is a non-starter. This article was supposed to be about ways TOsketchfest could entice me to go in the future, a list of suggestions for ways they could generate some more buzz and increase the profile of this great event. If it’s true that they doubled ticket sales this year then they’ve obviously already done a great job of that. But I was writing about the ethos of the fest from the perspective of an outsider. When I suggested bringing in more outside talent, I never intended to suggest that our local sketch troupes aren’t worth watching, just that some names people already know would direct even more attention to our deserving comedians. I certainly don’t believe that if my own troupe had been in the fest this year (we didn’t apply) the media buzz would have been any greater as some people are suggesting.

2. For those that took this opportunity to call The Raisin Gang names, fuck you for going there. I didn’t utter a single disparaging word about any troupe or individual but you’re going to make this about me and my friends? Grow some thicker skin.

3. Some people suggested that the Toronto comedy community doesn’t need this kind of armchair criticism. On this point I’d like to reiterate that I acknowledged my position as a blogger with no authority multiple times throughout the piece. I run this operation on my own free time for no money out of my love for comedy and our local talent. If you go back and read what I’ve been posting for almost a year now, you’ll see that my attitude towards local talent is overwhelmingly positive. You know what? Maybe I was snarky and maybe this was pointless, but that’s my prerogative. If it’s cheerleading you want, look no further than the whole week’s worth of posts I ran during the fest dedicated to TSCF recommendations.

4. To The Real Johnson who posted “I didn’t read this post, but it’s really shitty.” Touché. That’s hilarious.

5. I will admit that my comments were written hastily and flippantly. Re-reading the article, I come off much more adversarial then I meant to, especially at the beginning and at the very end. My last comment should have implied that I want TSCF to be unskippable in the minds of the general public, not that I think it’s shit. I’ll be more considerate with my tone next time. Oh yeah, don’t worry, there’s going to be a next time.

6. I still think my points are valid. A couple top acts from other places and an all access wristband would be really fun. Don’t you think?

Anyways. I guess thanks for reading my blog even if now you hate me and everything I’ve ever done. I appreciate that everybody loves a good pile-on. Congratulations on the success of Sketch Fest and good luck in the future.

About Mikey Kolberg

I'm a comedian and a university graduate who couldn't find a job so I started a blog.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “SketchFest SCANDAL: Some Comments About Your Comments

  1. This is a fair and reasonable follow-up (and one that singles out my hilarity)– so thanks. I hope you get some more comments that appologize for their cattiness (but you won’t). Good for you for sticking to your guns and promising to continue writing. Haters gonna hate.

    Posted by The Real Johnson | November 21, 2011, 10:10 am
  2. Good response there, mista Mikey. I hope all them folks who read (and responded to) the other dealy read this, too.

    Posted by Pipeses | November 21, 2011, 11:35 am
  3. Hi there. Read your follow up. I’m glad you acknowledge how the tone of your piece might have contributed to the response you received. Just to be clear, my comment, about “not forgetting your name” was never intended to be a threat in any way. But, to be fair, I am less likely to want to work with anyone who isn’t “excited” about me. Right? Why would I want to? That’s just honest. So there you are. Who cares. You probably don’t want to work with me. It doesn’t matter. You make bold statements, and you get bold responses. It’s not that big a deal. It’s just comedy. I sincerely wish you and your troupe well.

    Posted by IN-ASS-A | November 21, 2011, 1:02 pm
  4. I’m one of the dudes who blew off an angry response to the original post. I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize to Mikey for my pissed off words. Sometimes comics cranky when it comes to criticism, and I happen to be one of those guys that shoots first and ask questions later. What can I say? I’m a flawed human being.

    Obviously I can’t take back what I said, but I appreciate Mikey’s follow-up post. I wish him and the whole Raisin Gang all the best.

    Posted by Jim Taylor | November 24, 2011, 7:49 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Toronto Sketch Comedy Festival Wrap-up « intocomedy - November 21, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow inTOcomedy on Twitter
